[email protected] Spills the Details on New Album “Bringing Back the Sunshine”

Blake Shelton may be a generally happy guy, but he recently admitted that it was time for his music to take a darker turn. While his forthcoming album may be titled Bringing Back the Sunshine, Shelton promises an interesting juxtaposition between the album’s title and the tracks. In fact, he promises some tunes that’ll bring back the heartbreak and moonshine.

Speaking to Rolling Stone Country, Shelton admits that his last two albums were a little more fluffy than his upcoming release, due out September 30. “My last couple of albums have been so positive, because when I made them I was just getting married. It’s been in this awesome place,” he says. “But after a while, as a country singer, I gotta get back to singing about getting drunk because there’s people out there — and I’ve been one of them — that have had their heart broken, or they’ve had a tough day at work, or they get stabbed in the back.”

While newer fans may be familiar with the lighter side of Shelton that comes through on The Voice and on songs like “Honeybee,” “Boys Round Here” and “My Eyes,” Shelton is quick to admit that those songs don’t completely reflect his personality. On his new album he hopes to go back to his roots. “The whole album is searching for parts of me that I think have… not gotten lost along the way, but stuff that I haven’t addressed in my music as much as I used to, whether it’s drinking songs, heartbreak songs or songs about how people treat you,” says Shelton. “Things like that.”

This slightly new/ slightly old direction for Shelton is evident on Sunshine’s first single, “Neon Light,” a mid-tempo kiss-off to a girl who broke his heart.”We’re pushing boundaries… and pushing ’em and pushing ’em,” he says to Rolling Stone County. “And to me, with that title, it’s like I’m bringing back some country into this thing.”

I’d take “Austin” Blake Shelton over “Boys ‘Round Here” Blake Shelton any day, so forget the sunshine, and bring make the heartache…and the mullet.

Bringing Back the Sunshine Tracklist
1. Bringing Back the Sunshine
2. Neon Light
3. Lonely Tonight (ft. Ashley Monroe)
4. Gonna
5. A Girl
6. Sangria
7. Buzzin’ (ft. RaeLynn)
8. Just South of Heaven
9. I Need My Girl
10. Good Country Song
11. Anyone Else
12. Just Gettin’ Started

Listen to Blake Shelton‘s “Neon Light” Here!

Follow me on Twitter @NicolePiering

For a complete #CMchat schedule, check out our calendar here: cmchatlive.com/calendar

Interested in being a #CMchat sponsor? Find out how you can sponsor a #CMchat feature or advertise with #CMchat here!

Author: Country Cadre

Provide Country Music Chat, Views, News and Entertainment 24/7, inspire our community through motivation and laughter, and lead the way as a Social Media Community Pioneer helping fans connect with their favorite artists online.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment